Multiple DUI Arrests
M. Qader A. Baig - a Conyers, Georgia Lawyer
Georgia employs strict sentencing guidelines for DUI convictions and other serious traffic violations. The severity of punishment increases for every additional DUI charge within a set number of years. If you have been charged with a 2nd or more DUIs within a period of five years, you are facing some very severe penalties - including mandatory jail time.
Multiple DUI Defense - Call (770) 929-1665 or contact us online.
Attorney M. Qader A. Baig has more than 20+ years of courtroom experience practicing in criminal law. He has years of experience in Dekalb County, Rockdale County and Cobb County and he knows the local court system - and the law.
Sentencing Guidelines Generally for Multiple DUIs (for a BAC of at least .08)
- First Offense: 10 days to 12 months in jail; up to a $1,000 fine, 12 months probation, one year license suspension; 40 hours of community service; Defensive Driving School and programs such as alcohol evaluations, treatment programs, AA, etc.
- Second Offense within five years of the first offense: 90 days to 12 months in jail; up to $1,000 fine; 12 months probation; 3 year loss of license; 240 hours of community service; Defensive Driving School; Mandatory Alcohol Evaluation and/or treatment; Ignition Interlock Device; Tag relinquishment.
- Third Offense within five years of first offense: 120 days to 12 months in jail; up to $5,000 fine; 12 months probation; 5 year license revocation; 30 days of community service; Ignition Interlock Device; probationary licenses may be available after 2 years with installation of interlock device for offenders over 21; for offenders under 21, probationary license may be available after 2.5 years.
- Fourth Offense: considered a felony, a fourth DUI within 5 years will result in at least one year to five years in State Prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
If You Have a Commercial Driver's License (CDL)…
A commercial driver's license (CDL) is a means to a livelihood. If you have a CDL and receive a DUI conviction, your ability to earn a living may be severely compromised. Even if you were not driving a commercial vehicle at the time of your DUI arrest, a conviction may directly impact your CDL. A first offense may disqualify you from having a CDL for one year. A second offense may disqualify you from having a CDL for a lifetime.
Attorney Baig is widely admired for his trial skill and his encyclopedic knowledge of law and courtroom procedure. And our firm offers retainers which only reflect the legal services you need and eliminate the need to pay for unnecessary services.
To schedule an appointment, contact us online or call (770) 929-1665.
Read More »
Read More »
Read More »